A Poem I Wrote When I Was a Whiny Girl

The bearer of this all is who I am

I take people’s sorrow, their pain, their pride

And I swallow it up and keep it inside.

 

“You’re so loving, Lauren”

“You’re so special, Lauren”

“You’re so loved, Lauren”

 

Yet I am always apart,

Just as certainly by my own making

as the empty fumes of words from sincerely naive mouths

 

I know I get aloof,

Anxiety ridden, it’s true

And yet I try to overcome this,

 

But yet it is as if I can only be

That girl who people want in their lives

For no particular reason other than she cares

 

I am selfish

I understand that

I want to be loved

 

Published by

Lauren Worth

Loyola University New Orleans Alum, avid dog petter, and prolific BSer.

One thought on “A Poem I Wrote When I Was a Whiny Girl”

Leave a Reply

